Friday, December 14, 2007

Santa Barbara to honor Cotillard

Santa Barbara International Film Festival has created a new award, the Virtuosos Award, to honor this year's top performances. Its intent is to "recognize a select group of young actors who have distinguished themselves in film."

Marion Cotillard, Casey Affleck, James McAvoy, Ellen Page, and Amy Ryan will be rewarded with the 2007 Virtuosos Award on January 30, 2008.

SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling explains:

“There will always be one or two performances that stand out, but this year in particular there were several performances by actors that truly set them apart from the pack. These talented actors have proven themselves to be a strong presence on-screen, and these performances have given a glimpse at the bright future that cinema has to offer audiences for years to come.”

Read the whole article on the Critics and Monsters web page.

No comments: